top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritney

DAY 16: Back to work

It’s Monday and of course it is another way for me to teach. I am scheduled in a different section today so I could use the same PowerPoint presentation I used last time. Same routine: Ms. Rani is at the back, who cuts in every time the students doesn’t seem to understand what I’m talking about, she translates; either Ally or Arvin accompanies me to my class to assist; students are participative but some have their own lives. I tend to call those students who I haven’t seen much to raise their hands because maybe they don’t understand the lesson. At least, if I call their attention to solve the question on the board, I could teach them how it’s done. Some teachers would be mad that their students don’t understand what they just said, but for me, it’s not the students’ fault. It is our duty as teachers to make sure they understand it. It doesn’t follow that when you teach, the student learns. We have to make adjustments for that. So what I do is I always have 2-3 questions be answered by them in chorus and the rest of the examples are answered by volunteers or students I call. Afterwards, I let them have their activity. I didn’t let them to just answer questions; I added a little twist to it. So, below is a secret message that could be decoded by answering the questions correctly. They will write the letter of the write answer on the space provided with the number of the question it’s for. At the end, they’ll complete the statement. We often finish fast since the students are really smart and they can catch up right away. They don’t need much warning for them to be quiet because you can have their attention easily – in my case, I knock on the board and say “excuse me, please listen”. Or maybe that’s just one of the many advantages of having an all-girls class. I dismissed the class to go have their break, and I received a chocolate from a student which is really nice. I went back to the faculty room and enjoyed my treat.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page