top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritney

DAY 23: Indo(yum)mie

Updated: Sep 30, 2018

Today, I’m scheduled to teach Grade 7-5 so I have to move on to my next topic which is Fractions. I decided to teach them an Origami first for them to know the basic concept of what fractions are. In doing an origami, you have to fold the paper in half, thirds, or quarters. In this way, I showed them a concrete example of what fractions are. But before I letting them to start, I instructed them to write a letter on the paper I gave to anyone they want – their mom, friend, or loved one. I, then, instructed how to do the origami. The final product is a butterfly. Afterwards, I went on with my discussion and the students cooperated well. I think fractions are difficult to discuss with the language you’re not used to use that’s why I think they had a hard time understanding it. But I repeatedly explained and demonstrated how it’s done and they listened. These kinds of situations are evidence that language barrier is really a problem but it couldn’t be hitch if both parties are participating. I see how the students compromise every time to make the discussion work and I think that’s a great thing about these students. At the end of the class, a student gave me a paper with her drawing of me, welcoming me to Al-Amjad. These students are really sweet and appreciative that made me want to do better in teaching because that’s what these students deserve. At the end of the class, two of my students gave me an orange and a chocolate as a gift. I don’t really know what I did to deserve these kids. Afterwards, I went to the faculty to drop my things then proceed to Triin’s class to assist. It’s her GRAND DEMO today as we may say. Today’s discussion would be recorded for Ma’am Yayuk to see and evaluate. So, this is kind of a big deal for us. I think she did well, she always does.


Few hours later, our service arrives and is ready to take us home. We rest for a while in our rooms and decided to finish the things to be done at the cafe just by our dormitory. The owner of that cafe is very kind to us, or as I can see, to everybody. She's very accommodating and always asks us how our day went; also funny. We figured to eat here since we're also saving money to recover all the expenses we had last weekend. Triin and I ordered the same thing - Indomie and Milo susu dingin (cold/iced milo with milk). When our food came, the serving is WAY more than I expected. I don't usually eat noodles for dinner but this definitely made my stomach full. And a happy tummy ain't good for someone who's planning to stay up all night. Eehk!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page