top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritney

DAY 27: Farewell

This is going to be my final day in Al-Amjad. I’ve been holding back my tears for so long and I SHOULD hold it back for one more day. As I enter the school, I try my best not to feel sad or at least let anyone see I’m sad. This should be the best day, for this is my last chance to be in this ground. When we got there, the students are gathered around because it’s aerobics day. And since it’s our last day, we might as well still join this and enjoy every moment. Afterwards, we were asked to say our farewell to the school and to the students. The students were also asked if they would like to say something for us, two three students spoke and Gita translated it for us. It’s mostly about thanking us for teaching in Al-Amjad and for everything that we did there; that they hope we come back soon. Triin lost it, she cried. I, too, was very touched by what these students said. Every day, they just make it more difficult for us to go. I have to compose myself because I still have one last class to go to. As I run through my discussion, they are participative as usual. They listened well so we finished the discussion right away. When I’m about to say goodbye and dismiss them, they stood up and gave me A LOT of gifts. There are so many letters and snacks. They asked me to open it right there. Miss Rani asked us to form a circle and sit down for me to open the letters properly. Unfortunately, we ran out of time and I have to go back to our faculty room. When I’m about to say goodbye, they all cried. I’m so freaking out; I don’t want them to cry like that! Seeing them cry, makes me want to cry. I swear, I’m going to miss these kids. I assure them that I’ll be back when I could, and said goodbye.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page