top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritney

DAY 6: MY BIG DAY!

Our day started with an exercise. Fridays are scheduled for aerobics; the students are gathered at the field and proceed to their dance exercise. We joined the Zumba – having a full-experience of involving ourselves to the activities of the school. We sweat ourselves and had fun whie dancing to the song we don’t even understand. Afterwards, we went back to our room and I readied myself for later. This is going to be my first time to teach here in Al-Amjad and I’m nervous but excited at the same time. My colleagues kept saying they’re active and smart; that made me excited to handle my own class. The time has come; oh how I need to pee. My heart’s pounding real fast and I kept saying “I’m nervous!” and Willy just kept saying, “Don’t be! They just kids.” Well, yeah, they’re just kids but kids can be rude! Of course, I didn’t let them see how nervous I was; I cover everything with a smile and went on with my discussion. It was very difficult to teach because of the language barrier. Sometimes I say something and they all look at each other trying to figure out what I meant. Ma’am Rani and Gita had to translate it to for them to understand. Even though there’s a slight difficulty, the students are very participative. I like how respectful they are of the person speaking; I didn’t have to warn them about anything nor had a hard time managing the class. It is already expected that there are slow learners in a class, but I can say that this class is really smart. They got the topic quickly, considering we have a language barrier, and I can see that they’re really trying to make the discussion work. I can see no student that’s doing other things unrelated to the subject. We finished our discussion and I gave my activity. Gladly, everyone did it right and that ends my day.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page